top of page

Home

Those on the outside have considered the three congregations displaced, feeling sympathetic because we don’t have a home. We don’t have our familiar kitchens to cook in. All leftovers from Shabbat and other events must be packed up and taken away. We don’t have the luxury of our own refrigerators to save the food for Sunday morning for the minyanaires. Our board meetings are cut short. At 9:50pm the nice gentleman at the front desk here at Rodef peeks his head into the library, tapping his wrist silently telling us to wrap it up. So, maybe that’s not such a bad thing. And the main office of Tree of Life/Or L’ Simcha looks like it should be on the TLC show, Hoarding: Buried Alive. Boxes upon boxes are stacked on top of each other. It’s an obstacle course just to get to the computer. Normally before Sisterhood Shabbat, I would check the closet weeks before looking over the boxes filled with plates and napkins from previous events. My daughter, Kayla, and I went in there in November and discarded them. Rose Gerson would shop ahead dropping off things in the refrigerator. There was no need for her to make arrangements with Alex to use the kitchen. She just did it. Please don’t get me wrong, we appreciate Rodef Shalom welcoming us with open arms and everything they’ve done for us. Making us feel as comfortable as possible. Home just isn’t about a building and its contents. It’s also about the occupants. The people who feel comfortable with each to gather for events. Who want to share their lives with you. Who want to be there through thick and thin. I can’t lie and tell you everything is peachy keen. We’ve had disagreements, which is par for the course, but at the end of the day we come back home. The night before my wedding, my father in law asked me a philosophical question. He said Kara, if you and Marvin lost everything what would you have left? I paused for several seconds because I knew I only had one chance to get it right. I looked him straight in the eye and spoke from the heart. And I said to him, I had my husband and we should still have a home. Even though Tree of Life/ Or L’ Simcha, Dor Hadash, & New Light aren’t on Shady and Wilkins, we still have a home as long as we are together.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram
bottom of page