top of page

Yahrzeit Notices, Plaques, and Passover

YHARZEIT NOTICE

I received a Yharzeit notice in the mail from the synagogue office a few weeks ago telling me that my father, Sanford Goldstein name would be read at morning minyian today. My father passed away in mid March six years ago but the Hebrew calendar and the secular calendar hardly match and so it’s very helpful to receive the reminders from the synagogue. I have asked for Yharzeit noitces for additional relatives and friends to be sent to me which helps to perpetuate their memory.

I also light a memorial candle at home as the letter instructs and the Yharzeit notice makes me pause and think of wonderful memories of my father, relative or friend.

I encourage you to also provide the synagogue office with a loved ones name and date of death so that you too can experience on an annual basis an opportunity to keep their memory alive.

YHARZEIT PLAQUE

Yharzeit plaques are displayed on the back wall of the Hailperin Sanctuary and serve as a tribute to ones loved relative and or friend. Made from cast bronze this tribute is a lasting memorial featuring their full name and Hebrew month and date of death. We are able to locate spouses and families plaques together on the Yharzeit tablets.

PASSOVER

Soon we will be celebrating the festival of Passover and I trust you will be hosting or sharing the Seder meal with family and friends. If you would like to host a person who does not have a Seder to attend please call my office and I will try to make a match and find a person in need of a Seder meal for them to enjoy!

Happy to hear from you please feel free to call 412-521-6788 x 101 or write joeldon@aol.com if I can be of help.

Shalom

Joel

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram
bottom of page